Montgomery County DUI Penalty Attorney
If you are accused of drunk driving in Maryland, the best investment you can make is to enlist the help of a highly skilled defense attorney. A first-time conviction can lead to substantial fines, jail time and a suspension of your driver's license. Repeat offenders face additional jail time, increased fines and even the threat of a revoked driver's license.
At The Law Offices of Richard B. Rosenblatt, PC, we have more than 20 years of experience offering aggressive defense for individuals accused of drunk driving. Our founding attorney, Richard B. Rosenblatt, understands the emotional drain a DUI/DWI charge can have on your entire family. Contact our law firm today to meet with a highly skilled Montgomery County DUI penalty lawyer. We will address the potential implications of a drunk driving conviction so you are left with no surprises.
Addressing Potential Penalties of a DUI/DWI Conviction
When you select our law firm, we will conduct a thorough investigation into the allegations against you. Our legal team is committed to staying ahead of the prosecution. We will evaluate the circumstances behind your traffic stop and will not hesitate to fight for a dismissal or reduction in charges based on a lack of evidence or violations of your constitutional rights. Our top priority is to protect you from the serious implications of a drunk driving conviction such as:
- First DUI offense penalties — Motorists accused of driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher will face DUI (driving under the influence) charges, while drivers with a BAC of .07 will be charged with a DWI (driving while impaired). The penalties vary greatly between DUI and DWI charges. Individuals convicted of a DWI can serve up to two months in jail, while someone convicted of a DUI can serve up to a year in jail. First-time offenders can expect to have their license suspended for six months. Individuals convicted of a DWI can be fined up to $500, while individuals convicted of a DUI can be fined up to $1,000. We are often able to mitigate the results of a first offense by obtaining a probation before judgment (PBJ), which can result in no conviction and no points on your license.
- Second offense DUI penalties — Motorists convicted of a second DWI can serve up to a year in jail, while individuals convicted of a second DUI can serve up to two years. Second-time DWI/DUI offenders can expect to have their license suspended for a year. Individuals convicted of a second-time DWI can be fined up to $500, while second-time DUI offenders can be charged up to $2,000. A second-time DUI conviction is also punishable with an ignition interlock device after 45 days of suspension. We are effective at mitigating the penalties for a second offense.
- Third offense DUI penalties — Individuals facing third-offense DUI/DWI charges can be sentenced to up to three years in jail. Law enforcement can suspend their license for a minimum of 18 months and fine them up to $3,000.
Drunk driving is a serious offense in Maryland. The stakes become even more threatening with multiple convictions. Entrust our law firm to deliver an aggressive DUI/DWI defense focused on protecting your constitutional rights.
Contact Our College Park First, Second and Third Offense DUI Lawyer
Whether you are a repeat offender or facing first-time DUI/DWI charges, contact