Understanding Maryland’s DUI/DWI Penalties

If law enforcement charges you with of drunk driving in Maryland, the best investment you can make is to enlist the help of a highly skilled defense attorney. A first-time conviction can lead to substantial fines, potential jail time and a suspension of your driver's license. Repeat offenders face additional jail time, increased fines and even the threat of a revoked driver's license.

At The Law Offices of Richard B. Rosenblatt, PC, we have more than 20 years of experience offering aggressive defense for individuals accused of drunk driving. Our founding lawyer, Richard B. Rosenblatt, understands the emotional drain a DUI/DWI charge can have on your entire family. This is why we commit to fostering a compassionate environment and seek solutions that protect your future.

Contact our law firm today to meet with a highly skilled criminal defense attorney at 301-637-0402 or 866-930-0413. We will address the potential implications of a drunk driving conviction so you can make an informed decision about your case.

Addressing Potential Penalties Of A DUI/DWI Conviction

When you select our law firm, we will conduct a thorough investigation into the allegations against you. Our legal team works to stay ahead of the prosecution. We will evaluate the circumstances behind your traffic stop and will not hesitate to fight for a dismissal or reduction in charges based on a lack of evidence or violations of your constitutional rights.

Our top priority is to protect you from the serious implications of a drunk driving conviction such as:

  • First-time DUI/DWI penalties — Driving under the influence (DUI) charges to motorists with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher. Driving under the influence (DWI) apply in situations when drivers have .07 BAC. Individuals convicted of a first offense DWI can serve up to two months in jail, pay fines up to $500 up to a six-month license suspension period. A first-time DUI penalty many include a one-year jail sentence, up to $1,000 in fines and up to six months license suspension.
  • Second offense DUI/DWI penalties — Motorists convicted of a second DWI can serve up to a year in jail. Individuals convicted of a second DUI can serve up to two years of jail time. Second-time DWI/DUI offenders can expect to have their license suspended for a year. Individuals convicted of a second-time DWI can face fines of up to $500, while second-time DUI offenders can be charged up to $2,000. A second-time DUI conviction is also punishable with an ignition interlock device after 45 days of suspension.
  • Third offense DUI penalties — Individuals facing third-offense DUI/DWI charges can receive up to three years of jail time. Law enforcement can suspend their license for a minimum of 18 months and fine them up to $3,000.

Drunk driving is a serious offense in Maryland. The stakes become even more threatening with multiple convictions. Trust our law firm to deliver an aggressive DUI/DWI defense focused on protecting your constitutional rights.

Don't Wait To Speak To An Attorney

Whether you are a repeat offender or facing first-time DUI/DWI charges, contact our Rockville office today for a free consultation. Email our attorneys or call 301-637-0402 or toll-free 866-930-0413.